Revlon DoubleTwist Mascara Review

Revlon Double Twist Mascara Packaging

Revlon Double Twist Mascara Packaging

Today I’m reviewing Revlon’s doubletwist mascara. I bought this a few months ago, but I change my mascara religiously every 3 months and don’t open a new package until the one I’m using has reached it’s ‘expiration date.’ This not only saves me money but saves my eyes as well. If you wondering how I keep up, I use a sharpie to write the expiration date (three months from opening) on the tube and throw away on that date. Well, double twist is part of this three months mascara routine, so I thought I’d share what I like and don’t like about it. Read on….

Cost

I got this in a ‘value’ package which contained not one but two tubes. I think I only paid around 5 dollars for this with coupons. So, great deal for sure! Most drugstore mascaras range from 5-12 dollars depending so this is a superb value.

The Brush

The brush is huge! Please see the picture below for an image of the brush, up close. In this picture, you can also see my sharpie-dating-system for my mascara tubes. Large brushes tend to be used in volumizing mascaras and this mascara as classified as such. The good about the brush? It easily coats large lashes with pigment and does give volume. The bad? It is extremely hard to do ‘detail’ work with this brush when it comes to your lashes. It is nearly impossible to reach the inner, smaller lashes with this brush and it is very difficult to lengthen lashes.

 Revlon Double Twist Mascara Brush

Revlon Double Twist Brush (macro)

Wear Time

I have the waterproof version and I must say it does stay on all day. It does smear when I shower, but I expect that. It’s easily removed with makeup remover so that’s a plus as some waterproof mascaras are very difficult to remove.

So, Is it worth it?

I say yes. It’s definitely not the best mascara I’ve used but it’s not bad. I do recommend buying a lengthening mascara to use as a second coat after double twist. I always use a combo of a volumizing mascara and a lengthening mascara to get my lashes to look awesome. I definitely think this technique is necessary here. I use a small, thin brush from any lengthening mascara I like to further separate and enhance my lashes after I apply this as a first coat. Even with this said, the price is so good and it has enough pros, that I do recommend it.

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Makeup, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

