What Difference does taking care of yourself make?? A BIG one. Welcome Confidence with arms wide open!

Before Picture

Me sans effort

After Picture

Me With Effort

This is a post addressing self-esteem and confidence. Now, I’m not going to say it’s easy as, ‘1,2,3’ to find confidence in yourself especially if you have struggled with this. But, as one of those myself who has spent most of my life not liking what I see in the mirror, I can now confidently say I love myself and every part of myself – including the way I look. I’m going to tell you what helped me find this and what I do to keep thinking positively. Keep Reading!

The Pictures

As you can see, the pictures above look very different. The top picture is me without my hair done, in a college t-shirt, and barely any makeup at all. Do I look happy in that picture? No, I don’t. This was taken on a cruise in 2010, so, not that long ago. However, this was the time in my life where I began taking better care of myself and experimenting with my style. The picture on the bottom, is, of course, me now. This was taken over the summer for the blog. Do I look happy in that picture? You betcha. What made the difference in a mere year? Well, I’ll tell you.

The Differences

First, lets examine the pictures, shall we? What factors have changed between the two pictures? I’ll go from top to bottom.

1.) Hair: In the first picture, my hair is air dried and nothing is done. It’s also my natural color and hasn’t been cut in a little while. In the bottom picture, my hair is dyed, cut, and styled the way I want it to be.

2.) Eyebrows: My eyebrows are shaped and groomed in the bottom picture. In the top – notsomuch.

3.) Makeup: This is where the magic happens (as Carmindy says). In the top picture, I’m wearing only foundation and powder. In the bottom picture? Foundation, concealer, powder, bronzer, blush, eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, lipstick. This may sound like a lot, but it really isn’t my friends.

4.) Clothing: I was wearing a GSU shirt and jeans in the first pic…..not that this is bad altogether. There are days when it’s okay to be really casual, but, my style has changed so much since then. I know what kind of clothes draw me in and I buy those. I make it a point to go outside my comfort zone when shopping and It usually turns out to be an awesome thing. I still love casual wear, but the causal clothes that I wear have changed. When you wear what you like, you feel great, trust me.

5.) Time: I didn’t spend much time on myself in the first picture (obviously). Now, I make it a point even on ‘busy’ days to a lot myself at least 30 minutes to get ready. I want to look my best anytime I head out of the house – period. I also focus more on nutrition and there is about a 5-10lb difference in the two pictures – this is really just more time spent on myself. Listen, it’s not selfish, it’s needed and good. Spend more time on yourself overall and you’ll notice a difference.

Tips Please?

You know how on makeover shows such as, ‘What Not to Wear’, the women always find confidence in the end? There is something to this. If you look in the mirror everyday and see someone who’s been putdown by none only than yourself and gets treated poorly by yourself, then you’re going to feel it. If you look in the mirror and see someone whom you spend quality time on, you’re going to see something of value. What I’m trying to say is, pick something to do just for you and see how you feel afterwards. It’s great.

Is This all about the Surface?

There is something to the aesthetics here as well. If you dress the way you desire to be seen in clothes that fit, if you spend time making your hair look how you envision it, and finally, if you bring out your naturally beautiful features with makeup, you will look in the mirror and not recognize yourself. This is a good thing. Let me tell you a secret. I wear makeup at home when I’m not going anywhere. Why? For me! I want to look in the mirror and see even skin and bright eyes. I’m sorry if this sounds selfish, but I really don’t feel that way. Why would you want to avoid looking in the mirror simply because you don’t like the uneven texture of your skin? We have products to fix it for a reason – it’s a problem for everyone. So, here’s what I say.

  • Find your style: Find clothes that are totally ‘you’. Don’t buy just because it’s on the rack or because you think you should wear it. Buy it because you like it and you feel like a rockstar wearing it!
  • Go to the Salon: Get your hair to be the color you want and ask for the cut that your heart desires. Ask how to style it if you don’t know how. Do this at home.
  • Get your Glow on: Get a starter kit of makeup if you don’t have one. Many cosmetic counters will help you with this. If this is too expensive for you, no problem. Get a drugstore makeup kit. If you already have makeup but are in a rut, surf the internet, or go on youtube to find new looks that will enhance your features. You don’t have to spend an hour on this, but at least apply what will make you the most confident. For me, this is foundation and basic eyes at the minimum.
  • Find your strengths and find your power there: Identify what you do well and congratulate yourself for a job well done. KNOW that you do this well and don’t let anyone else tell you different.
  • Find your identity: This is the most difficult because it is constantly evolving (at least for me). Find things you believe in and stand for those. Challenge yourself to make a change and stick to it. Congratulate yourself when you do.
  • KNOW that taking care of yourself makes a difference: Even if it seems futile at first, keep on plugging away. One day, you’ll wake up and realize you love who you see in the mirror and you’re not quite sure when it happened.

Why do you need Confidence Anyway?

One word: Power. Confidence is power. With confidence in yourself you can be the absolute best you can be and know that you are rockin it along the way. Now that I love myself, I wonder why oh why did I waste so much time hating the way I looked. I hope every one of you finds your inner diva!! Happy Trails!

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Hair, Makeup, Non-Beauty Related and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. you are amazing! thanks for the inspiration. i stumbled upon your site after searching for foundation. you are my skin twin and can’t wait to try some of those drugstore foundations! you look fabulous! ! thank you for the wonderful posts!

  2. keep up the good work. you’ll be rewarded.

Leave a Reply

