New York Color Creme Stick Blush Review and Swatches

New York Color Blushable Creme Stick in Plaza Pink

NYC Blushable Creme Stick in Plaza Pink

This is another one of my holy grail drugstore products I’m reviewing here. You will see that I have quite a few of the shades from New York Color’s blushable creme stick line as I love them so much. Firstly, let me say that I prefer a creme bronzer and a creme blush as opposed to powder forms. I feel they blend in better and look more natural while giving you a nice pigmentation. I’m going to go ahead and tell you that it is difficult to find a good drugstore creme blush or bronzer for that matter. New York Color has provided in that area and has exceeded my expectations. Read on for pictures and review….

DESCRIPTION:

The creme blushes come in the standard twist up stick tube that you see with many creme products. You can apply these by dabbing them on your face or by using fingers or a brush to pick up product. The packaging is very sturdy and it works. The color of the tube matches the color inside which is pretty cool if you ask me (very reminiscent of tarte’s amazonian clay blushes and stila’s convertible creme color). You get quite a bit of product at 0.28oz. They have 6 colors in their permanent line and are constantly churning out limited edition shades with new collections. There is a good and a bad side to the limited edition shades. The good is that you get colors that come out in the season when they are popular (i.e. if berry shades are popular in fall, they will release a berry shade during that season). The bad is that if you find one you absolutely love and must have forever and ever…..well, you can’t.

APPLICATION/WEAR:

The way I prefer to wear these is apply them like all other creme products. I dot them on wherever I want them after foundation and concealer but before powder. I blend them out with a synthetic foundation brush and then apply my powder (my NYC smooth skin translucent powder) on top. These do last all day but if you’re worried about the lasting powder, you can always layer a similar color powder over the creme. They apply very easily, dotting them on is all you need. The pigmentation is awesome! They blend beautifully. If you ask me, these products rival higher end creme blushes such as Stila’s convertible color. Really, I can’t tell the difference in wear between the two. I just can’t say enough good about these. The only downside is that there are only 6 shades. I’d like to see just a few more in the line.

New York Color Blushable Creme Sticks

This is my collection: the two on the far left and right are permanent and the others are limited edition.

New York Color Blushable Creme Sticks

View from the top. You can tell that bronze radiance, third from the left is very well-loved!

New York Color Blushable Creme Stick swatches

Swatches labeled: plaza pink and urban spice are perm while bronze radiance and gold radiance are limited edition with the summer bronze bliss collection.

OVERALL

Love these! I use bronze radiance everyday as a bronzer but I plan on using Urban Spice when that runs out. Gold radiance is a wonderful creme highlighter and plaza pink is a great pink creme blush. Go get you some NYC!

Posted on August 30, 2011, in Makeup, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. NYC Creme Stick! It’s so cute, fits in your purse without having the powder break or even spill out. Love the way it feels on my cheeks. Super smooth! The bronze is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

