Eyes Lips Face Mineral Eyeshadows Review and Swatches

ELF Mineral Eyeshadows

ELF Mineral Eyeshadows

ELF is another brand that I adore. Their products are so cheap and many are surprisingly great. But, at the price, you just can’t help but give them a whirl. I won’t say that I’ve like every product I bought from ELF (most notably, some of their lighter eyeshadows in the beauty books lack pigmentation). But, I would say overall, they have great things to offer. My favorite products from ELF are their brushes, their eye primers, and blushes. I picked up a set of three eyeshadows from their mineral line at my local target. I didn’t know what to expect from the shadows as my experience with ELF eyeshadows has been big hit or big miss. I was pleasantly surprised with these shadows. Read on…..

DESCRIPTION:

The mineral shadows are packaged like many other types of the same consistency. They are in a small jar with a sifter and a lid. Now, let me say I’m a connoisseur. of mineral shadows and loose pigments, so I have experience with many different brands. I will say that this packaging doesn’t feel as sturdy as I wanted it to be. It’s hard to get a good seal on some of the jars but none have leaked thus far. The colors I own would be described as smokey colors – a gray, a matte black, and a white. As an added bonus, the ELF mineral line is paraben free, and the entire makeup line is cruelty free. Each shadow goes for $3.00 at www.eyeslipsface.com.

WEAR/PIGMENTATION:

Let me begin by saying I wear all mineral eyeshadows wet. I don’t ever wear them dry as I feel the pigmentation and application is always better wet. I did wear these wet. The application was very easy and the colors ARE very pigmented. The wear didn’t keep up to say a Bare minerals shadow or a MAC pigment. I used a primer and would definitely say that a primer is necessary with these (as with any pigment for that matter).  The shadow stayed on for a good 4-6 hours without fading. It didn’t so much crease as it faded. With that said, I often have trouble getting dark shadows to stay vibrant throughout the day. The light color stayed on all day long.

RECCOMENDATIONS:

Overall, I like the ELF mineral eyeshadows. I would recommend as great for everyday use. I would also say they are great for those who can’t afford a bare minerals shadow or MAC pigment. I recommend using a primer and/or a base to keep these sticking all day. I would also recommend applying them wet.

ELF Mineral Eyeshadow in Smoldering, natural light

Smoldering – a dark grey.

ELF Mineral Eyeshadow in Seductive

Seductive – a matte black.

ELF Mineral Eyeshadow in Angelic

Angelic – a shimmery white.

ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Swatches

Swatches in natural light

ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Swatches

More Swatches in natural light

OVERALL

These mineral shadows are just about the cheapest mineral shadow you can purchase and they do hold their own. I would say that if you have the money to splurge on a more expensive color then that would be optimal especially if you will use that color a lot. These mineral eyeshadows are great for everyday wear, for expanding your collection, or just introducing yourself to the ELF brand.

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Makeup, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

