Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Gel CreamLiner Swatches and Review

Physician's Formula Shimmer Strips Gel Liner

Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Gel Liner in Hazel, Blue, and Green eyes.

Another Rave review for a Physician’s Formula product. This is for their gel liners. Here’s a quick rundown of why I love these:

1.) Price point is low 2.) You get three colors in one product 3.) they wear fabulously 4.) they glide on smoothly 5.) They have shimmer hidden inside

You may notice I have all the colors except for the one that goes with my brown eyes. Well, that’s not a problem. I buy makeup colors based on what I like and what I know looks good on me not by the label. I will say that all the colors I have complement my brown eyes though they are designed for other eye colors. What does this mean? Don’t feel constricted to buy your eye color’s set because of the label. Buy what you want! Read on for the review…..

DESCRIPTION:

These are gel liners that come in sets of three and are stacked one on top of another. They do all break apart but the fact that they lock together is nice for keeping track of the sets! There are three colors and the last color of each stack is a dark one – black if you will with shimmer that matches the color of the set. So, for instance, in the blue eyes set, the black has blue shimmer in it to bring out the blue in your eyes. This, my friends, is fabulous. It’s not obvious chunky glitter on your eyes but just enough to give something different to your look. They all come with a brush to apply. I don’t use this brush and I encourage anyone using gel liner to purchase a liner brush because it’s that much easier. I used the little brushes at first and got quickly discouraged. I use two brushes for gel liner that I adore: the $3 ELF bent liner brush and the Sephora Eyeliner brush. Of course, the Sephora one is more expensive but it works very well.

REVIEW:

I’m going to match the claims of this product with what I’ve actually observed. I will say that gel is the only thing I use on my waterline anymore due to staying power and I most often grab for this product. Without setting with a powder shadow, it lasts for hours. When you set the gel liner with matching eyeshadow it lasts….all…..day….long! Love this stuff. This is the most smooth gel eyeliner I’ve found in the drugstore and I love the range of colors. Of course, you’re not going to get a color range such as you’ll find at Sephora or MAC but for the drugstore, you can’t beat it.

The following table contains the company claims on the left and my thoughts on the right:

Three custom shades provide a glamorous look to define and enhance your eye color.  True. But, as I have said, don’t feel constricted by ‘eye color.’ Buy the colors you want! I did!
Unique gel cream formula glides-on effortlessly and smoothly while providing the definition of a liquid eyeliner.  True. This does glide on very easily and is a good step up for those wanting to use liquid eyeliner but don’t have the confidence yet to try.
Long-wearing, water-resistant and smudge-resistant formula provides 24-Hour definition. Partially true. This does give all day wear which is awesome! I wouldn’t say 24 hour wear though.
Includes Pro-Eyeliner Brush for effortless and precise application.  It does include a brush but I don’t use it for eyeliner and don’t recommend you do either. I use the enclosed brush for cleaning up my manicures! Perfect for that.
Stackable eyeliner pots can be pulled apart for individual use on-the-go. Yes, I totally agree. I love the packaging on the eyeliners. Sturdy, easy, and convenient.

Physician's Formula Shimmer Strips Gel Liner

Hazel Eyes Packaging taken apart to show how the stack unfolds.

Physician's Formula Shimmer Strips Gel Liner Swatches for Hazel Eyes

Hazel Eyes Swatches

Physician's Formula Shimmer Strips Gel Liner Swatches for Green Eyes

Green Eyes Swatches. These look less pigmented by the swatches but I believe that’s because I swatched a brand new package. I don’t believe that the pigmentation is any less with this set.

Physician's Formula Shimmer Strips Gel Liner Swatches for Blue Eyes

Blue eyes swatches

OVERALL

Love these gel liners and definitely recommend them! If you’re looking for a gel liner for a good price in the color you want, go with Physician’s formula. Gel liners are great for those wanting to graduate to liquid liner but don’t quite know how to apply them. I would recommend using the brush that comes with the set for another use and buying an eyeliner brush for application. If you want a budget friendly one, go with ELF, for higher end, Sephora has a great one.

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Makeup, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have seen these before and I usually love every product from physicans formula. Im glad I know they work good so i can buy them now. Thanks for the review!

    I found your blog on beautylish and Im following. Check mine out if you have a chance!

    Kelly
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

