Revlon’s Super Lustrous Lipstick in Wild Orchid Swatch and Review (with special appearance by Stila and NYX)

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Wild Orchid

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in ‘Wild Orchid’

All of you bright and bold lipstick fans are going to love this post! I love Revlon’s lipsticks, in fact, I think they are just about the best that you can buy at the drugstore. They are pigmented, creamy, and they come in a variety of finishes and colors. Recently, CVS had a great sale on these and I picked a few up. I’m normally a nude lippie girl since I tend to wear such dramatic eye looks but this color called my name and I decided to step a bit out of my comfort zone and try it. I’m very glad I did! Read on for review and pics….

REVIEW:

This color is a blue based pink which I knew would look great on my fair, pink based skin. This more than likely won’t work for you warm toned gals but for any of my cool toned friends, this will be a nice addition to your collection. The finish is a pearl finish which does have slight shimmer to it but not chunky glitter. The pearl finish just basically means it’s not completely matte. The color is highly pigmented so I would reccomend using a lipliner and applying with a lipbrush as I did. This brings us to the special appearance by NYX and Stila. I used my Stila lipliner in ‘Devoted’ to line my lips before applying the lipstick. Doing both of these things, the lipstick looked fantastic. I did apply a bit of NYX burgundy lipgloss on top of the lipstick to give me a bit more shimmer but it is definately not needed as I would totallly wear Wild Orchid without any gloss. The NYX burgundy just suited the color so well (as it is also a blue based color) that I couldn’t resist. The Stila lipliners are just about the best I’ve ever tried for pigmentation and I’ve yet to find a drugstore lipliner that works as well as Stila. As far as wear time, without eating or drinking, it lasts for hours. But, it did fade after I ate and drank (expected). So, I recommend toting this bad boy with you for touch ups after meals. All in all, I highly recommend the whole line of revlon lipsticks and this color is definitely no exception.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Wild Orchid

Up close shot of Revlon’s Wild Orchid

Stila Long Wear Lipliner in Devoted

Stila Long Wear Lip Liner in ‘Devoted’

Stila Long Wear Lipliner in Devoted

Up Close shot of Stila’s Lipliner……awesome lipliner, can’t say it enough!

NYX Mega Shine Lipgloss in Burgundy

NYX Mega Shine Lipgloss in Burgundy

NYX Mega Shine Lipgloss in Burgundy

Up close shot of NYX Burgundy Doe Foot

Swatches of Stila's Devoted, NYX Burgundy, and Revlon Wild Orchid

Swatches of all products used in the lip combo

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Wild Orchid

Complete Look using the Wild Orchid color – you can see that my eye makeup is minimal and should be as such for such a bold lip color.

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Makeup, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

