L’oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator Eyeliner Review and Swatches

L'oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator Eyeliner in Black Crystal

L’Oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator Eyeliner in ‘Black Crystal’

The L’oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator is one of L’oreal’s brand new products on the shelves right now. I was so excited to see these released because, to my knowledge, this is the first white eyeliner pencil to make it to the drugstore shelves. For this, l’oreal, you are innovative and I congratulate you. I bought two of these, this is ‘black crystal’ with a black end and a white end. I also got the one for ‘brown eyes’ which is a purple liner and a white liner on the ‘illuminate’ end. Did I like it? Review and pictures to follow……

WHAT I THOUGHT:

As far as affordable white liners, the only one I have tried up to this point is the NYX pencil which I do love. So, l’oreal had to match those expectations. Overall, they have. As far as the colored end, I thought the pencil was a little on the hard side, so I warmed it up with my hand and got it to work quite well for me. You can’t see it in the picture of the eyeliner but the colored side did have slight shimmer to it. Which, I don’t mind. But, what I really wanted this for was the white eyeliner part. I use white eyeliner on my waterline frequently to make my eyes look bigger and more ‘awake.’ The first thing I notice is that you get more colored eyeliner than white eyeliner with this product, and I wish that order had been reversed. But, no biggie. As for the performance of the white eyeliner. It went on as well as my NYX and did the job but doesn’t stay for very long. This is somewhat understandable as it is hard to find a product that will stay all day on my waterline (since it is bombarded by tears throughout the wear of the product). So, I set the white pencil with a white shadow and with that, it stays for a few hours and this is acceptable for me. The only product that stays all day on my waterline, honestly, is gel liner. I don’t expect a pencil to stay all day, so with these expectations, this pencil does work for me; though, as I said, It has to be set with powder (white eyeshadow).

L'oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator Eyeliner in Black Crystal

colored end of the ‘black crystal’ color

L'oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator Eyeliner in Black Crystal

White end of ‘black crystal’. As you can see, I’ve used it quite a few times.

L'oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator Eyeliner in Black Crystal Swatches

Swatches. Colored end on left and white end on the right.

OVERALL

This is a very good product overall. I do prefer my NYX white pencil eyeliner better because the whole eyeliner is white and it’s a little easier to apply. But, this is alllmost as good and it’s much more accessible than NYX (ulta or web order suppliers). You can find this at any drugstore or mass market retailer like Wal-Mart or Target. I got this super cheap with coupons as well. For being the only white eye pencil in the drugstores it definitely has an advantage. I do not regret buying it and would buy it again considering the price and the accessibility. I would love to see l’oreal make a whole eyeliner with the white color as well as making the texture a bit softer and I would be totally happy. But, overall, not too shabby!

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Makeup, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

