Cover Girl Intense ShadowBlast Review and Swatches

CoverGirl Intense Shadow Blast

CoverGirl Intense Shadow Blast in (L->R) Beige Blaze, Platinum Pop, and Forever Pink

 

Another Cover Girl Review today! As I had mentioned in my review of their eyeshadows, covergirl, like other drugstore brands have really been stepping up lately improving their products and rolling out a lot of really great stuff. The best thing about Cover Girl is that it’s very easily accessible and it’s price tag is very reasonable. They’ve been in the drugstore game for a long time and, honestly, up until recently I was disappointed with many of their products. However, starting with the lashblasts (which have become a staple for many women in the mascara department), they have been producing very high quality products that I have been more than impressed with. The product I’m reviewing today is their Intense Shadow Blast, not to be confused with the cream stick shadow blast – these are totally different and sooooo much better.

DESCRIPTION/PACKAGING:

Covergirl markets these as a cream shadow and primer in one. This alone is very exciting. The only drugstore-affordable level primers that I know of are made by ELF, Jesse’s Girl and NYX. So, that makes these a very readily avaliable primer. They come in a tube with a doe-foot type applicator and you get quite a bit of product at 0.27 fl oz. They are  mousse type texture and go on very easily. The colors I have are a beige color (beige blaze), a blue (platinum pop), and a pink (forever pink).

APPLICATION:

These apply very smoothly to the lids and blend very easily. The doe foot is bendable and does a good job at applying the product. It’s big enough to fit the eye area but not too big. They go on sheerer than what you see in the tube but I’d say the pigmentation is great for a cream type base. Powder eyeshadows go on easily on top of these ad blend very nicely. These do no inhibit the ability of your powder eyeshadows to perform in any way whatsoever.

WEAR:

I do not use these are primer alone. I use a primer first such as ELF and then place this over as a wash of color or cream base. For this purpose, they work incredibly well. I have also worn them alone with no other powder shadow on top and they do last all day long. My favorite color is the beige blaze because it reminds me a lot of my favorite MAC paint pot, “bare study.” My powder shadows wear all day with no creasing on top of this product, but again, I do use a primer underneath these shadows. I love these as a cream base and I also love them for the summer when you can just apply them as a wash of color with eyeliner – simple, easy, quick, and it stays.

Now for pictures!

CoverGirl Intense Shadow Blast in Platinum Pop

Platinum Pop. The decription is a bit decieving. This is a light blue color on me, not what I would call platinum, but that fine.

CoverGirl Intense ShadowBlast in Forever Pink

Forever Pink. Beautiful light pink color.

CoverGirl Intense Shadow Blast in Beige Blaze

This is beige blaze – my favorite! This is a champagne type color and is so versatile. I think this would look great on anyone.

CoverGirl Intense ShadowBlast Swatches

SWATCHES! As you can see, the pigmentation is there and the colors are beautiful.

OVERALL

I really don’t have anything bad to say about these. I love them, which is why I bought two more after trying the first one I purchased. I use the often and think this is a great innovation by cover girl and is a good competition with the higher end lines. Every girl needs an eyeshadow primer, if you ask me. These are so easily accessible, it makes it possible for everyone to get their hands on a budget friendly eyeshadow primer. I would love it if covergirl would produce more colors and even a colorless primer. I love the primer by ELF and NYX (and have heard great things about Jesses girl) but they are only sold at particular stores. To get ELF, you need a kmart or target, for NYX you need an ulta, for Jesses Girl, you must have access to a Rite aid. Cover girl, though, can be purchased at just about anywhere that sells drugstore line beauty products.

Posted on July 21, 2011, in Makeup, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

